Just in: Makinde wins in Oyo,also breaks one-term jinx

Gov Seyi Makinde

The incumbent governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde has been declared winner of the governorship election held on Saturday in the state.

He is the Governorship candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, was declared winner by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Makinde polled 563,756 votes to beat his close rival Teslim Folarin of All Progressive Congress who scored 256,685 votes, while Adebayo Adelabu of Accord Party scored 38,357 votes.

The state Returning Officer, Olusola Kehinde, said, “That Makinde Oluseyi having satisfied the requirement of the law is declared winner of the poll.”

Makinde won 31 out of the 33 local government areas in the state, while Folarin came second by winning two local governments of Irepo and Ore-lope.

With this feat, Makinde has also broken the jinx of one-term associated with the state after the late Abiola Ajimobi who was governor between 2011 to 2019.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here