FUNAAB honours Obasanjo, Soyinka, Bogoro, others


L-R: Ambassador Solaja, the chancellor, His royal Eminence Edidem Ekpo Okon Abasi-Otu V, the Obong of Calabar, and the VC, Prof. Kolawole Salako commissioning the building named after Chief(Dr.) Olusegun Obasanjo

…Name  buildings after them

The authorities of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta Ogun State on Tuesday honoured a former President Olusegun Obasanjo, the Nobel Laureate Prof. Wole Soyinka, the outgoing Executive Secretary Tertiary Education Fund(TEtfund),a former Vice -Chancellor of FUNAAB, Prof. Israel Folorunso Adu, and a former deputy vice-chancellor, Prof. T.O. Tayo by naming buildings constructed by the Prof. Kolawole Salako-led administration after them.

The buildings concerned include the College of Engineering Phase 2 building which was named after Chief(Dr.) Olusegun Obasanjo, the university Library Extension was named after Prof. Wole Soyinka, while a twin- 250 seater capacity lecture theatre halls were named after the outgoing Executive Secretary of TEtfund, Prof. Suleiman Elias Bogoro.

In the same vein, the Agricultural Farm Laboratory Complex was named after a former deputy vice-chancellor, retired Prof. T.O. Tayo and a 250-seater capacity lecture theatre was named after late Emeritus Professor Israel Folorunso Adu Lecture theatre, posthumously.

This honour was conducted by the Vice- Chancellor in company with principal officers of the university, the chancellor of the institution, His royal Eminence Edidem Ekpo Okon Abasi-Otu V, the Obong of Calabar among others.

These were part of activities heralding the 28th and 29th combined convocation ceremonies of the institution slated Wednesday and Thursday.

Ambassador Oluwatoyin Solaja performed the commissioning of the Engineering building by cutting the tape on behalf of  former President Olusegun Obasanjo, while the Baale of Ilugun, a community where the Nobel laureate built his house, Chief Gbeje Orobiyi,  did cutting of tape to the library extension building since they were both unavoidably absent at the event.

Architect Olajide did the commissioning of the lecture theatre named after Bogoro,

Prof. T.O. Tayo did the cutting of tape to commission the facility named after him while the Obong of Calabar commissioned the 250-seater capacity lecture theatre named after Emeritus Israel Folorunso Adu posthumously.

Prof Salako speaking earlier said those who were honoured merited the honour bestowed on them.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here