Fayemi, Akpabio, Bankole, Boroffice,Amosun step down for Tinubu as voting commences

APC presidential front runner, Bola Tinubu

At least seven presidential aspirants contesting  to clinch the ticket of the All Progressives Congress had withdrawn from the primary being held at the Eagle Square venue of the exercise in Abuja presently.

The medium observed that voting started  around 1am and no fewer than 2,203 accredited APC delegates were in attendance.

The former Speaker of the House Representatives, Dimeji Bankole announced that he was stepping down for one of the front runners for APC presidential ticket, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu because he wants to grow old too.

Also the Ekiti State governor, who doubles as the Chairman, Nigerian Governors Forum, Dr Kayode Fayemi, equally stepped down to endorse Tinubu.

Among others who had stepped down for Tinubu are former Ogun State and Akwa Ibom governors Senator Ibikunle Amosun and Godswill Akpabio;  Jigawa State Governor, Mohammed Badaru Abubakar and Mrs Uju Kennedy.

In the same vein,  Dr. Nicholas Felix stepped down for Vice-President, Prof. Yemi Osinbajo.

On his own part, Fayemi said stepping down for Tinubu, an ‘elder brother,’ was not a favour but a duty, asked delegates from the state and his supporters across the country to vote for Tinubu.

He said he would continue to support if he won the ticket.

Voting commences soon after the aspirants withdrew from the race.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here