Ekiti gov primary: Bamidele, Adeyeye, Faparusi, others withdraw, allege imposition


.Fayemi and wife

A former Minister of Works, Senator Dayo Adeyeye, former Commissioner of Information in Lagos State, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele and five other governorship aspirants on the platform of the All Progressives Congress have withdrawn from the party’s primary in Ekiti State.

This is coming ahead of the governorship election slated to hold in June this year.

According to a statement on Thursday, others who withdraw are a former governorship aspirant, Kayode Ojo; Demola Popoola; Femi Bamisile; former House of Representatives member, Bamidele Faparusi; and Afolabi Oluwasola.

They claimed that the governor is attempting to impose former Secretary to the State Government, Biodun Oyebanji, as the Ekiti APC governorship candidate.

They alleged that the primary election committee consisted of loyalists of Governor Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State, who before now rooted for Oyebanji.

Also some members of the party protested against the process of the governorship primary scheduled to take hold today in Ekiti.

They all demanded the disbandment of the committee.

The statement read, “The seven aspirants herein received with rude shock and dismay the purported list of local government election committee and ward election committee made up solely by party members and political appointees that had before now openly endorsed the candidacy of Biodun Oyebanji the immediate past secretary to the state government.

“It is on record that the government of Governor Kayode Fayemi has given its unwavering support to the candidacy of Biodun Oyebanji, it is common knowledge that the Governor and most appointees of the governor are openly rooting for and supporting Biodun Oyebanji’s aspiration to become the flag bearer of our great party.

“What is more disturbing is the fact that a simple glance at the names of the persons appointed as members of both committees would reveal that it is made up of appointees of government who are all supporters of a candidate in the primary election they are appointed to superintend on.


“The seven candidates herein are loyal, faithful and committed party members who are sincerely concerned about the chances of the party in the forthcoming 2022 governorship election where an imposition is allowed to override a democratic primary election for determining its flag bearer.

“We request that both the local government election committee and ward election committee that were constituted on the list already in circulation be disbanded and replaced with names that would reinforce internal democracy and uphold the aims and objectives of the party.”






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here