Balogun emerges as Ogun assembly new deputy speaker 

The Ogun House of Assembly on Tuesday elected Mr Akeem Balogun representing  Ogun Waterside constituency as the new Deputy Speaker of the House.
He was elected unopposed by the House.
 Balogun’s election which was supervised by the Clerk of the House, Mr Deji Adeyemo, during plenary on Tuesday followed a nomination of his name by Solomon Osho (Remo North) and seconded by Abayomi Fasuwa (Ijebu North East).
The clerk had earlier hinted the House of the vacancy in the office of the deputy speaker before the conduct of the election.
The clerk explained that the former deputy speaker was removed with the support of 19 members of the House.
He noted that the action had created a vacuum to the office of the deputy speaker.
Recall that the Former deputy speaker,  Dare Kadiri (Ijebu North 11) was impeached over alleged gross misconduct on March 2.
Speaking to journalists after his election,  Balogun appreciated his colleagues for choosen him as the deputy speaker.
He assured the Speaker of 100 per cent loyalty, especially on issues that would bring development to the state.
He said, “As the captain of the ship, I will regularly be in consultation with him on issues that will bring development to the state.”



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here