Hooliganism: Ogun shuts down 12 public schools ahead of vacation


Ogun State Government has ordered the closure of 12 public secondary schools under its jurisdiction ahead of the December 10 vacation date in order to forestall the gale of violence and hooliganism that had occurred in some of the schools.

The state Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology,  Prof. Abayomi Arigbabu disclosed this on Tuesday in Abeokuta, the state capital.

Recall that recently students of some  secondary schools in the state had engaged their colleagues from other neighbouring in cult-war fights or battered their teachers for daring to sanction them for unruly behaviour.

A Divisionak Police Officer in the state was injured in a fracas between two neighbouring secondary schools around Asero axis in Abeokuta.

News reaching this medium indicated that the 12 affected schools were asked to proceed on vacation from Tuesday, November 30 after finishing the first term examination.

The students of the remaining public secondary schools would close December 10.

Arigbabu said the 12 schools affected were considered “as flashpoints of reported unruly behaviour of some students against either the teachers or some other neighbouring schools.”

The Commissioner hinted that the steps was one of the measures being adopted by the state government to combat this ugly trend, in a circular addressed to the Zonal Education officers in the affected zones

The circular read partly, “The underlisted hotspot schools should commence their compulsory holiday with effect from Tuesday, 30th November, 2021. Kindly ensure the compliance of this in your different zones.

“The schools are Egba High School, Asero, Asero High School, Itori Comprehensive High Schoo, Itori, Ofada Community Comprehensive High School, Ofada, Lafenwa High School,Lafenwa, Abeokuta.

“Others are Egba Owode Grammar School, Owode, Community Comprehensive High School, Ijoun, Unity High School,Kajola Iboro,Ado-odo Ota and Eyini Comprehensive High School, Iboro

“The rest are Government Science & Technical College, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta, Lisabi Grammar School, Idi-Aba, Abeokuta and Methodist High School, Arigbajo.”




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here