Be loyal to APC, Abiodun tells defected APM lawmakers


The Ogun State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun has advised the seven state lawmakers of the Allied People’s Movement in the Ogun State House of Assembly who defected to the All Progressives Congress “to be loyal to the party.”

The Governor gave this advice while receiving the defected lawmakers who were led on a courtesy call to his office at Oke Mosan, Abeokuta on Thursday by the Speaker of the state House of Assembly, Olakunle Oluomo.

 Governor Abiodun stressed the need “for all members to be loyal and contribute to the development of the state.”

He added that they must work with the party towards realising “the #BuildingOurFutureTogether” agenda of his administration.

Those who defected from the APM to the APC are Modupe Mujota, Abeokuta North state Constituency, Musefiu Lamidi, Ado Odo/Ota ii Constituency, and Amosun Yusuf, Ewekoro state Constituency.

Others are Ajayi Bolanle,and Ganiyu Oyedeji representing Egbado South and Ifo ii state constituencies respectively and their Ipokia/Idiroko and Sagamu ii state Constituencies counterparts, Ajibola Sikiratu and Ademola Adeniran.

With the defection, the 26 membership House now boasts of 22 APC lawmakers, three African Democratic Congress, and one member from the People’s Democratic Party.

Abiodun who described the lawmakers move as a ‘homecoming’, said it was a thing of joy to have them back, some of them having left as a result of disagreement before the 2019 elections.

He noted though they returned without coercion, they should expect being criticised by some critics.

Governor Abiodun said in line with the party’s inclusive and participatory policy, the party had not discriminated against them in the past 18 months, and would never do, assuring them of “enjoying all the benefits other members of the party enjoy.”

The Governor used the occasion to appreciate the entire members of the House, attributing the modest achievements recorded by the Executive so far to the continued support of the lawmakers in the last one and a half years.

Presenting the seven lawmakers to the Governor, Speaker of the House, Oluomo, noted that the rejoining of APC by the seven lawmakers symbolised the achievements of the administration in getting everyone on board.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here