Ogun earmarks N40.81bn for road projects in 2021 


Residents of Ogun State would have a cause to smile in the new year, as the state government says it will spend N40.81bn on completing ongoing road construction and start new ones to completion in 2021.

The good news is that the three senatorial districts of the state would benefit from it.

The state Commissioner for Works and Infrastructure, Ade Adesanya, an engineer, said this on Monday while appearing before the State House of Assembly’s Finance and Appropriation Committee.

He explained that while the new roads construction would gulp N36.3bn the remaining N4bn would be spent on rehabilitation of roads across the three senatorial districts in the state.

Adesanya told the committee that plans had already been concluded for the  commencement of construction works on the Atan-Agbara industrial 19.2km road, Ilishan-Ago-Iwoye, Ofada-Owode, Ikangba-Lagos Garage, and Sango-Akute roads among others.

Other roads listed include Akute-Denro Road with bridge and concrete lining canals, Lambe Junction-Matogun Junction, Matogun-Oke Aro, Oke-Aro Junction-Oke Aro all in Ifo, Lafenwa-Rounda-Ayetoro in Abeokuta North and Journalists’ Estate Road, Arepo.

Others are Adesan Road, Mowe in Obafemi Owode Local Government Area and Olokuta/Laderin/Abule Ori, and Adatan Junction to Gbonagun in Abeokuta South/Obafemi- Owode.

The roads in Ogun East District are Molusi College Road, Ijebu-Igbo, Ijebu Ode-Epe/Sagamu-Benin Interchange, Molipa Expressway, Ijebu-Ode, Ago-Ilara-Ilishan Remo Road, Orile Oko Road, Sagamu-Iperu-Isara-Sapade Road, Sagamu-Iperu Road, Iperu junction-Ode Junction among others.

In Ogun West Senatorial District, Adesanya listed the road projects to include Old Wema Bank-Old Local Government Road in Ayetoro, Government Road, Ayetoro, Ibeku-Agbon-Asa (grading), Imashai-Igan Okoto road all in Yewa North Local Government Area, with Ilaro-Owode Road in Yewa South, Ayetoro-Itele-Ayobo road that cut across Ado-Odo/Ota and Ifo Local Governments, as well as Imeko Iwoye Road, and Afon loop, Imeko township in Imeko-Afon Local Government Area.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here