INEC declares Obaseki as winner of Edo governorship election


The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the incumbent governor of Edo Godwin Obaseki as the winner of the September 19 governorship election.

Obaseki who defected to the Peoples Democratic Party shortly before the election scored 307, 955 votes to defeat Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu of the All Progressives Congress who polled 223,619 votes.

The Commission said a certificate of return will be presented to Obaseki within the next seven days as required by the law.

More later…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here